1. Support
  2. Odysys Updates & Release Notes

Sept 2020 - 2021: Upgrading "Odysys 1.0" Websites to Wordpress

Sept 2020 - 2021: Upgrading "Odysys 1.0" Websites to Wordpress Odysys is shutting down the Odysys 1.0 site builder, and upgrading all of our 1.0 website customers to the new version of Odysys Ben Lloyd

Overview

Odysys is in the process of upgrading all of our customers to the newest version of Odysys including our upgraded site builder. Odysys "1.0" websites are not compatible with the newest version of Odysys, so all 1.0 websites will be upgraded to our newest version of site builder to be compatible with the newest version of Odysys.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

When Will My Site Be Upgraded?

Odysys has a substantial list of customers to upgrade and we are managing this process in phases. We've brought on additional team members to assist in this process and anticipate that we'll be migrating sites through most of 2021.

Odysys will reach out to you when it is your account's turn in the queue. At that time - you'll have the option of choosing a "Simple Upgrade" vs a "Website Redesign". (See below) If your website is more than 3 years old, we strongly encourage you to opt for the redesign.

What is the Newest Version of Odysys?

Odysys is in the final stages of releasing the newest version of the Odysys "app" software. This new release will feature an entirely redesigned Odysys experience with a new and improved dashboard, marketing tools, analytics and site builder.

More details will be available about the newest version of Odysys when it is released in 2021. When your site is upgraded/migrated or redesigned, you'll have access to this new version of Odysys. The original version of Odysys' website builder "1.0" is not compatible with the new version of Odysys therefore Odysys is upgrading all site builder 1.0 websites to the new version of Odysys site builder.

Redesign vs Upgrade/Migration - What's the Difference?

Option 1: Upgrade/Migration - Free

Your existing website’s content, style, and layout will be replicated on the new version of the website builder. You will not participate in the migration process, your website will be more or less copied over to the new website builder. We will let you know when it is started and when it is completed, you will not be able to edit your website during this time. Once it is ‘live’, you’ll be able to edit your website using the new website editor. We provide training and the same help/service you’re used to.

Option 2: Website Redesign - $399 Special Offer

Strongly recommended for websites that are 3 or more years old.

Your website will still be upgraded to the new website builder, but the Odysys team will work with you to build you an entirely redesigned website. You will participate in this redesign process, and Odysys will update the look and feel of your website, the navigation, and modernize all the little eye-catching features that will set your new website apart. Once it is ‘live’, you’ll be able to edit your website using the new website editor. We provide training and the same help/service you’re used to.

The $399 special pricing is our best pricing on a redesign ever. You can always get a redesign but the price is typically higher than $699. The special pricing offer expires as soon as we begin the upgrade/migration process (option 1 above).

As a general rule of thumb websites should be refreshed/redesigned every 3 years or so.

How do I Know if my Website is an Odysys 1.0 Website?

  • If you've gotten an email from Odysys about upgrading your Odysys website to

  • If you've been with Odysys since before 2019, there's a good chance your website is built with the "Odysys 1.0" system.

  • When you login to Odysys, if the address is https://app.odysys.com/ (not app2 or app3) then you are using Odysys 1.0

  • If your site builder editor looks like this - you're using Odysys 1.0

Can't I Just Stay on Odysys 1.0? I Don't Want to Upgrade

The short answer is no. We will be shutting down the Odysys 1.0 system in 2021 when we've completed upgrading all of our customers to the new version of site builder.

The long answer is that Odysys 1.0 got us a long way as a company and has served customers like you very well. However, as we've progressed and grown and improved our technology and service, Odysys 1.0 hasn't been able to grow with us and with the demands of the market.

As a company, we need to get all of our customers on one unified system that is more scalable, manageable and upgrade-able. This will help us continue to keep our costs down and our service level high.

Odysys is Asking me for my DNS Hosting Info - is This Legit?

Yes - we are moving all websites to new servers. So whether you're opted for the redesign or just the simple upgrade, your website will be moved to new servers and we will need your DNS information as a part of that process. More information about the process and how to find your DNS Host/Domain Registrar info is available here.

Did this answer your question?